The structure

At the European level, CLARIN is managed by CLARIN ERIC, a consortium of countries. It is composed of national governments and intergovernmental organizations. Its main task is to build, coordinate and administer the CLARIN infrastructure. The CLARIN project has been launched with the financial support of the European Commission, and is now fully financed by the member states of the consortium.

CLARIN ERIC currently has eight member countries: Austria, Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, the Netherlands and Poland, plus the Dutch Language Union. Norway has recently joined as an observer. The intention is to involve all countries in the European Union and countries associated with the Union.

Every member country establishes a national consortium. It includes universities, libraries, public archives and other research institutions which provide access to the digital collections of language data and tools for their analysis. CLARIN members are free to decide on their contribution to the development of the infrastructure, but they are obliged to implement the adapted standards. The purpose is to ensure:

  • the interoperability of CLARIN tools and resources,

  • the availability – as a result of sharing the services publicly,

  • the permanence – CLARIN is an infrastructure rather than a time-limited project.

Furthermore, two networks operate within CLARIN:

  1. institutions interested in cooperating with CLARIN and participatiing in its development,

  2. individual users.

CLARIN’s basic premise is to give its users access to all services with a single registration. User registration will become available soon.